Academic Senate Awards

The Academic Senate for California Community Colleges is pleased to provide you with a list of the Senate awards that will be offered this year along with timelines for submission and the criteria for each award. Please note that as each deadline approaches, senate presidents will receive a reminder letter from the Academic Senate Office for that specific award. This letter will include all necessary application materials. You do not, however, need to wait for the materials to apply for any award. Just download the award material and work with your senate to process the application. Please note that no applications for awards will be accepted after the due date listed for each award, and no faxed applications will be accepted.

The following awards and scholarships are now available:

Application Deadline: February 3, 2017
Presentation Date: April 21, 2017

The Stanback-Stroud Diversity Award, named for former Senate President Regina Stanback-Stroud, honors faculty who have made special contributions addressing issues involving diversity. One person receives a cash award of $5,000 and a plaque. A call for nominations goes out in December with an announcement letter, application, criteria, and scoring rubric. This is a Senate award, is sponsored by the Foundation for California Community Colleges for $5,000, and is presented at the Spring Academic Senate Plenary Session each year.

Application Deadline: December 23, 2016
Presentation Date: March 20, 2017

The Hayward Award is conferred upon four faculty members annually who have been nominated by peers from their college. Named for former California Community College Chancellor Gerald C. Hayward, the award honors outstanding community college faculty who have a track record of excellence both in teaching and in professional activities and have demonstrated commitment to their students, profession, and college.

Application Deadline: February 1, 2017
Presentation Date: February 1, 2017

The Norbert Bischof Faculty Freedom Fighter Award (NBFFF) is presented to faculty leaders who have exhibited exceptional leadership skills by helping to maintain a healthy and functional system of governance or by having demonstrated exceptional courage and effectiveness in support of the adopted principles and positions of the Academic Senate.  In 2009, the Executive Committee renamed this award after the Senate’s founding father Norbert Bischof.

Application Deadline: November 8, 2016
Presentation Date: January 18, 2017

The Exemplary Program Award, established in 1991, recognizes outstanding community college programs. Each year the Executive Committee of the Academic Senate selects an annual theme in keeping with the award’s traditions. Up to two college programs receive $4,000 cash prizes and a plaque, and up to four colleges receive an honorable mention and a plaque. The call for nominations goes out in October with an announcement letter, application, criteria and scoring rubric.