Academic Senate Awards

The Academic Senate for California Community Colleges is pleased to provide you with a list of the Senate awards that will be offered this year along with timelines for submission and the criteria for each award. Please note that as each deadline approaches, senate presidents will receive a reminder letter from the Academic Senate Office for that specific award. This letter will include all necessary application materials. You do not, however, need to wait for the materials to apply for any award. Just download the award material and work with your senate to process the application. Please note that no applications for awards will be accepted after the due date listed for each award, and no faxed applications will be accepted.

Click here to download the Awards Handbook

The following awards and scholarships are now available:

Application Deadline: February 14, 2020
Presentation Date: April 17, 2020

The Academic Senate is pleased to announce the call for nominations for the Stanback-Stroud Diversity Award, sponsored again this year by the Foundation for California Community Colleges.  This award seeks to honor the cadre of committed faculty who consistently rise to meet the challenges our students face.  Serving the most diverse student population of any higher education system in the country, the California Community Colleges System is largely comprised of demographic groups that have traditionally faced barriers to education and are often underprepared when they reach the classroom. 

Application Deadline: December 13, 2019
Presentation Date: March 20, 2020

The Academic Senate is pleased to announce the call for nominations for the Hayward Award for “Excellence in Education.” Sponsored annually by the Foundation for California Community Colleges, this award honors community college full-time and part-time faculty who demonstrate the highest level of commitment to their students, college, and profession.

Application Deadline: November 8, 2019
Presentation Date: January 14, 2020

Congratulations to the 2019 –20 Exemplary Program Award recipients and honorable mentions!