Regina Stanback Stroud Diversity Award

Chair, Equity and Diversity Act ion Committee

The California Community College System serves the most diverse student population from varied backgrounds of any higher education system in the country. Our student bodies are comprised of demographic groups that traditionally have faced barriers to education and we must admit that many students enter our classes underprepared and immediately realize they will face significant obstacles in our classrooms.

As educators, our challenge is to help as many of our students as possible to reach their personal and academic goals.

As we begin to get acquainted with our students both consciously and subconsciously, we are constantly evaluating their abilities and needs. However, this challenge doesn't rest solely on the shoulders of our students. It is our challenge and responsibility as well which requires us to find ways to engage and excite our students to learning. We know that pedagogy and teaching methodology is crucial to teaching and learning within our diverse classrooms.

And we are fortunate to have a cadre of dedicated and committed faculty who understand the needs of their diverse students. Faculty who allow students to become risk takers instill a high level of trust so that every situation no matter how complex becomes a meaningful learning experience. Real teaching expertise requires not only knowledge but sustained dedication and support for our students.

The Regina Stanback Stroud Diversity Award gives public recognition to the value that the community college places on equity and diversity. This award seeks to publicly acknowledge a member of the faculty who consistently demonstrates commitment to the equity and diversity goals of the college.

It recognizes the individual who performs in an exceptional manner to advance intercultural harmony, equity, and campus diversity by making exceptional contributions to the college beyond their usual obligations.

The Academic Senate for California Community Colleges bestows the Regina Stanback Stroud Diversity Award upon faculty who work tirelessly to promote student success in one or more of the following: (a) creating an inclusive and supportive campus climate, (b) implementing effective teaching and learning strategies, (c) facilitating student access, retention and success, and (d) fostering student engagement in campus life.

Each local Academic Senate may nominate one faculty member to receive this prestigious honor, which this year includes a cash award of $5,000. All faculty, both inside and outside of the classroom are eligible for nomination. One faculty member will be chosen and honored at the Spring 2008 Plenary Session.

You can find information about the award and the application on our website at Please note that the applications are due by February 1, 2008.