2009 Hayward Award

In 1985 the Board of Governors of California Community Colleges, in honor of the former state Chancellor, Gerald C. Hayward, created awards for outstanding community college faculty. The awards honor community college faculty members who demonstrate the highest level of commitment to their students, college, and profession. Recipients are nominated by their local peers and selected as winners by representatives of the Academic Senate for California Community Colleges. In addition to excellence in teaching, they must have a record of outstanding performance in professional activities, as well as a record of active participation on campus.

2009 Winners

Area A: Elizabeth Waterbury, Vocal and Choral Music, Shasta College
Area B: Andrew Fraknoi, Astronomy, Foothill College
Area C: Christos Valiotis, Physics, Antelope Valley College
Area D: Stephanie Dumont, Golden West College
More information about the 2009 winners