2010 Hayward Award

Event Dates

In 1985 the Board of Governors of California Community Colleges, in honor of the former state Chancellor, Gerald C. Hayward, created awards for outstanding community college faculty. The awards honor community college faculty members who demonstrate the highest level of commitment to their students, college, and profession. Recipients are nominated by their local peers and selected as winners by representatives of the Academic Senate for California Community Colleges. In addition to excellence in teaching, they must have a record of outstanding performance in professional activities, as well as a record of active participation on campus.

The Academic Senate is pleased to announce that the Foundation for California Community Colleges is again sponsoring the Hayward Award for "Excellence in Education." Each college may nominate one faculty member to receive this prestigious honor, which includes a cash award of $1,250. All faculty, both inside and outside of the classroom, are eligible for consideration, including previous nominees who did not receive the award. Four recipients, one from each area of the state, will be chosen and honored at the Board of Governors' meeting in Sacramento. Each recipient is also eligible to be forwarded as a nominee for the Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE) Professor of the Year Award.

2010 Winners

Area A: Adrienne Peek, English, Modesto Junior College
Area B: Marcy Alancraig, English, Cabrillo College
Area C: Sid Kolpas, Mathematics, Glendale College
Area D: Patrick Setzer, Music, Cuyamaca College
More information about the winners