Welcome to the Senate Rostrum! Below is the collection of articles, starting with the most recent.

Rostrum article deadlines for 2020-21:
September 25, 2020
January 4, 2021
March 8, 2021

Click here to go to the list of full issues.

Latest Rostrum Articles

Titlesort ascending Published Author
Forging Alliances-Inside and Outside the College

December 2008

  • Jane Patton
    Vice President
  • Craig Flanery
    AAUP Senior Program Officer and liaison to the Academic Senate
Focus on Transfer: ADTs, UCTP Degrees, and Community College Bachelor’s Degree Programs

October 2017

  • John Stanskas
    ASCCC Vice President
Focus on Equity and Diversity (Interviews with Stanback-Stroud Diversity Award winner, Nicholas Arnold, and Regina Stanback-Stroud)

September 2010

  • David Clay
    Professor in English at Cañada College, Equity and Diversity Action Committee
Flexibility, Compromise, and Leadership in Decision—Making: AB705 Regulatory Process as a Case Study

February 2019

  • John Stanskas
    ASCCC President
Fixing" the California Community College System

March 2009

  • Michelle Pilati
    Futures Committee Member
Fishing in the Academic Senate's McElligot Pool

March 2009

  • Karolyn Hanna
    Nursing Faculty
  • Laura Welby
    Chair Faculty Recognition Committee, Santa Barbara City College
First Ever Teaching Institute

September 2006

  • Phillip Maynard
First Conference

April 2006

  • Frank Tebeau
First Annual Technology for Teaching Institute

October 1998

  • Ric Matthews
Federalization of Higher Education and the Expanding Data Bubble

December 2010

  • Greg Gilbert
    Copper Mountain College
Faster is Not Better; Better is Better

November 2011

  • David Morse
Fall Session: The Firsts and the Lasts

April 2001

  • Julie Adams
    Executive Director
Fall Session Has It All: From Partnership to Drama

February 1999

  • Lynda Corbin
    San Diego Mesa College
Fall Session Elections

January 1998

  • Nancy Silva
Fall 2009 Referred Resolutions – Revising the 50% Law and Response to AB 440: “Transfer Degree”

January 2010

  • Michelle Pilati
    Academic Senate Vice President
Faculty to Administration: The Leap of Faith

September 2008

  • Richard Mahon
    Futures Ad Hoc Committee, Past Chair
Faculty Role and Responsibility in Professional Development

February 2019

  • Carolyn Holcroft
    Foothill College
  • Mayra Cruz
    ASCCC Representative At-Large
  • Michelle Bean
    Rio Hondo College
  • Elizabeth Imhof
    Santa Barbara Community College
Faculty Recognition: Acknowledging Your Own Faculty Is Part of Professional Development

September 2015

  • Julie Adams
    Executive Director
  • John Stanskas
    Secretary, Standards and Practices Committee Chair
Faculty Primacy in Online Education

September 2015

  • Dolores Davison
    ASCCC Online Education Committee Chair
  • Fabiola Torres
    OEI Steering Committee Chair and member of the ASCCC Online Education Committee
Faculty Primacy and AP Credit

February 2018

  • Randy Beach
    Transfer, Articulation, and Student Services Committee
  • Dave DeGroot
    Allan Hancock College
  • Jacqueline Stahlke
    Victor Valley College
Faculty Participation on the Student Success Task Force 2011

November 2011

  • Jane Patton
    Academic Senate Past President and Task Force member
Faculty Leadership Institute: 2007 - Prevention, Treatment, and Recovery - Keeping Local Senates Healthy

March 2007

  • Michelle Pilati
    Local Senates Chair
Faculty Leadership Institute, Legislative Pre-Session, and Liaisons

April 2017

  • John Stanskas
    ASCCC Vice President
Faculty Leadership Institute

October 1999

  • Nancy Silva
Faculty Leaders Found Their Way in San Jose

September 2004

  • Leon Marzillier
    Area C Representative