Welcome to the Senate Rostrum! Below is the collection of articles, starting with the most recent.

Rostrum article deadlines for 2021-22:
January 3, 2022 and February 25, 2022

Editorial Guidelines for Rostrum submissions can be found via the link here.

Click here to go to the list of full issues.

Latest Rostrum Articles

Titlesort ascending Published Author
Addressing the Silent Majority: Part-time faculty issues Through the Lens of Equity, Engagement and Empowerment

February 2016

  • Roseann Berg
    Foothill College, The ASCCC Part-time Faculty Task Force
  • Arnita Porter
    West LA College, The ASCCC Part-time Faculty Task Force
  • Lorraine Slattery-Farrell
    Mt. San Jacinto College, The ASCCC Part-time Faculty Task Force
Achieving Accessibility: Demystifying Section 508 Compliance

April 2003

  • Mark Wade Lieu
Accreditation: What’s Next

February 2012

  • Richard Mahon
    Accreditation Committee Member
Accreditation: The Policies on Distance Education

December 2006

  • Michael Heumann
    Technology Committee
Accreditation Teams

April 2012

Accreditation Standards: State and Local Concerns

October 2003

  • Greg Gilbert
Accreditation Reform and the Warren Bill

February 2017

  • Dan Wanner
    Accreditation Committee Member, Los Angeles City College
Accreditation Evaluation Teams-The Comprehensive Visit

April 1999

  • Published in January 1999 edition of Accreditation Notes
Accreditation and the Academic Senate: An Ongoing Relationship

September 2013

  • Dolores Davison
    Accreditation Committee Chair 2012 - 13
  • Phil Smith
    Accreditation Committee Chair, 2013-14
Accreditation and Faculty Evaluations?

December 2007

  • Marcy Alancraig
    Accreditation and Student Learning Outcomes Committee
  • Janet Fulks
    Accreditation and Student Learning Outcomes Committee
Accountability and Funding: The Misguided Approach of SB721

December 2012

  • Karen Chow
    Legislative and External Policy Committee Member
Accessibility in Online Education

September 2015

  • Dolores Davison
    ASCCC Online Education Committee Chair
  • Laurie Vasquez
    ASCCC Online Education Committee Member
Access? To What?

October 2003

  • Kate Clark
Access for All

May 2007

  • Wheeler North
    Area D Representative and friends
Acceleration: An Opportunity for Dialogue and Local Innovation

April 2013

  • David Morse
    Academic Senate Secretary
  • Tom deWit
    Co-Director, Acceleration in Context
Academic Senates and Student Governments: A Critical Partnership

April 2021

  • Stephanie Curry
    ASCCC North Representative, ASCCC Relations with Local Senates Committee Chair
  • Katherine Squire
    Vice President, Student Senate for California Community Colleges
Academic Senate Website Grows

March 2000

  • Mark Snowhite
Academic Senate Website

September 2010

  • Julie Adams
    Executive Director
Academic Senate Resolutions on Accreditation 1986 to the Present

November 2013

  • Phil Smith
    Executive Committee, Accreditation Committee Chair
  • Alfred Hochstaedter
    Monterey Peninsula College, Accreditation Committee Member
Academic Senate Foundation: Fall Session Fundraising Update

March 2014

  • Julie Bruno
    President, Academic Senate Foundation
Academic Senate Annual Report

May 2007

  • Mark Wade Lieu
Academic Programs without Homes

May 2009

  • Wheeler North
    Executive Committee Member
Academic Integrity

September 2007

  • Beth Smith
    Executive Committee Member
Academic Freedom in a Digital Age

February 1999

  • Ian Walton
Academic Freedom and Equity

November 2020

  • Manuel Vélez
    ASCCC South Representative
  • Stephanie Curry
    ASCCC North Representative