Academic Senate Awards

The Academic Senate for California Community Colleges is pleased to provide you with a list of the Senate awards that will be offered this year along with timelines for submission and the criteria for each award. Please note that as each deadline approaches, senate presidents will receive a reminder letter from the Academic Senate Office for that specific award. This letter will include all necessary application materials. You do not, however, need to wait for the materials to apply for any award. Just download the award material and work with your senate to process the application. Please note that no applications for awards will be accepted after the due date listed for each award, and no faxed applications will be accepted.

Click here to download the Awards Handbook

The following awards and scholarships are now available:

Application Deadline: February 5, 2018
Presentation Date: April 13, 2018

The Stanback-Stroud Diversity Award, named from former Senate President Regina Stanback-Stroud, honors faculty who have made special contributions addressing issues involving diversity. After more than 15 years that the award has been given, faculty from around the state have been honored for their work teaching to diverse learning styles, working with students of color and from non-traditional backgrounds, designing inclusive curriculum academic support programs, and many, many more projects and programs.

Application Deadline: December 22, 2017
Presentation Date: March 19, 2018

The Hayward Award is conferred upon four faculty members annually who have been nominated by peers from their college. Named for former California Community College Chancellor Gerald C. Hayward, the award honors outstanding community college faculty who have a track record of excellence both in teaching and in professional activities and have demonstrated commitment to their students, profession, and college.

Application Deadline: November 6, 2017
Presentation Date: January 16, 2018

The California Community Colleges Board of Governors recognized two California community colleges as 2017-18 Exemplary Program Award recipients.