Board of Governors Nominations

Annually the Academic Senate for California Community Colleges calls for nominations for one of the two faculty seats on the Board of Governors.  We seek your assistance in identifying outstanding faculty members who are knowledgeable about the issues facing faculty and others in the community colleges. The Academic Senate seeks tenured faculty with diverse backgrounds and experiences who possess strong leadership skills and who understand the landscape of the California community colleges.  Thus, it is important that all tenured members of your faculty are aware of this opportunity to serve. 

The Governor appoints members of the Community College Board of Governors.  As you may be aware, two faculty members serve on the Board of Governors, serving staggered two-year terms. The Governor makes these faculty appointments from a list of recommendations put forward by the Academic Senate for California Community Colleges. 

Attached is a description of the criteria the Academic Senate's Executive Committee will use to select nominees.  In addition, we would expect candidates to be articulate, capable of presenting a reasoned argument on issues of educational policy, and to have knowledge of statewide educational issues.  Any tenured faculty member who is currently employed by a community college district in that capacity may apply.  While not required, the nominee is strongly encouraged to include a letter of endorsement from the faculty member's local academic senate. 

Candidates for nomination should submit an online application, statement of intent, current resumé outlining relevant professional activities, and the letter of local senate endorsement if applicable. All materials must be received by the Academic Senate Office by 11:59 p.m. on, June 30, 2020.

Nominees will be selected and interviewed by the Executive Committee at its September 2020 meeting with the exact location to be provided once determined. All candidates will be notified of the outcome of the nomination process.  Thank you for your assistance in identifying worthy and qualified candidates.