Rising Scholars Faculty Advisory Committee

The work of the Rising Scholars Faculty Advisory Committee shall advance the 10+1 within local incarcerated education programs, support faculty professional learning in the areas of equity, pedagogy, social justice, and community building as it relates to instruction and governance within incarcerated education statewide; and express the faculty voice in spaces where incarcerated education is discussed and policies and agreements are made. The committee will make recommendations to the Executive Committee and to the Chancellor’s Office Rising Scholars Advisory Committee. The Rising Scholars Faculty Advisory Committee will also utilize liaisons and its professional learning network to disseminate information from ASCCC, the Rising Scholars Network, the Chancellor’s Office, and California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation to local faculty teaching in incarcerated environments.

Members shall be faculty serving in incarcerated education and shall include a formerly incarcerated student.

Committee Liaisons:

ASCCC Local Senate Liaisons that are connected to the committee include the Rising Scholars Faculty Liaison
○    This committee will send periodic communications to local senate Legislative liaisons that have been identified and signed up for the ASCCC Rising Scholars Faculty Listserv.

Current Members
Member Term
Juan Arzola 2023-24 Chair
Sarah Shepard 2023-24
Donna Necke 2023-24
Ariana Resendi 2023-24
Ashley Knowlton 2023-24
Jessica Paisley 2023-24
Gail Ann Rulloda 2023-24
Anne-Marie Beck 2023-24
Jacqueline Alvarez 2023-24
Joseph Almeida 2023-24
Kalinda Jones 2023-24
Academic Year Meetings

2023 - 2024 Meeting Dates and Times:


August 25th (11 am - 12:30 pm)

September 8th (11 am - 12:30 pm)

October 20th (11 am - 12:30 pm)

November 3rd (11 am - 12:30 pm)

December 8th (11 am - 12:30 pm)



Current Agendas/minutes




no results

Past members

Past Members
Term: 2022-23
Member Term Sort ascending
Cheryl Aschenbach 2022-23 Chair
Amber Gillis 2022-23
Ariana Resendi 2022-23
Jacqueline Alvarez 2022-23
Ashley Knowlton 2022-23
Sarah Shepard 2022-23
Edward Pohlert 2022-23
Jessica Paisley 2022-23
Anne-Marie Beck 2022-23
Arshia Malekzadeh 2022-23
Donna Necke 2022-23
Teresa Ward 2022-23
Angela Medina Rhodes 2022-23

Past Agenda/minutes