Community College Students Recognized for Scholarship

Standards and Practices Committee

The Academic Senate for California Community Colleges (ASCCC) awarded the Jonnah Laroche Memorial Scholarships to two continuing students and one transfer student this fall. Florencia Gomez of Antelope Valley College and Mario Zamora of Los Angeles City College were named the continuing student scholarship winners, and Shardae Collins, also of Los Angeles City College, was named the transfer student award winner. Gomez and Zamora each receive $500, and Collins, who will attend California State University Los Angeles in the spring, receives $1000.

The Foundation for California Community Colleges supported the memorial scholarships by finding sponsors for the cash awards. DMJM H&N, an architectural and design firm, provided the funds for the continuing students, and The Staubach Company, a real estate investment firm, funded the transfer student.

In accepting her award, Gomez thanked the faculty of community colleges for providing great assistance in helping her recognize her dreams. Collins also mentioned the value of community colleges and attributed her success to her experiences at LA City College.

Students are evaluated on academic goals, scholarship, and financial need, and nominating criteria emphasize the wishes of the founder of these scholarships to select students from groups that have been historically under-represented in higher education.

This year, applicants were limited to community colleges in the southern part of the state, but next year, applicants will be sought from the northern part of the state. Applications must be signed by the college Academic Senate President, who verifies the student's work and need.

The Jonnah Laroche Memorial Scholarship was established in 1994 by Roger Laroche to honor his wife, Jonnah.

A long time faculty member, Jonnah Laroche was a president of the ASCCC and served on the Community College Board of Governors. She dedicated her life to serving underrepresented students and was known for her development of mentoring programs. For more information about the award or sponsorship go to