Congratulations to the 2019-2020 ASCCC Exemplary Program and Hayward Award Winners

ASCCC Standards and Practices Committee, Woodland Community College
ASCCC Standards and Practices Committee, Santa Rosa Junior College


This year, twenty-four Exemplary Program Award entries were submitted for consideration by the ASCCC Standards and Practices Committee. Every program submitted showed deep commitment to student success, innovation, and passion, and all were champions for the mission of the California Community Colleges. Across the state, community colleges are doing amazing things, but unfortunately the ASCCC could not award all entries. The committee used a blind review process that assessed each submission on the following five-point criteria: indicators of overall program success, evidence showing need and innovation, demonstrated collaboration, evidence of the program supporting its college’s mission, and how the program could be a model for other community colleges. Through this process, the committee determined two award winners and four honorable mentions. The directors of these programs were recognized formally during the January meeting of the Board of Governors of the California Community Colleges. Thank you to all entrants for the thoughtful submissions, and congratulations to the 2019-2020 winners.

Award Winners:

Coastline College’s Cybersecurity Program
College of the Redwood’s Pelican Bay Scholars Program

Honorable Mentions
Mendocino City College’s Pomo Pathway Program
Reedley College’s Math Center
Riverside City College’s Career Closet Program
Santa Barbara City College’s Faculty Mentor Program


The Hayward Award for Excellence in Education is named for Gerald C. Hayward, who was Chancellor of the California Community Colleges from 1980 to 1985. It is given to exemplary faculty members, both full-time and part-time. For the 2019-2020 cycle, nineteen nominations were received representing all four ASCCC areas. The Standards and Practices Committee recognizes that so much good work is being done by individual faculty members throughout the system, bringing career-making skills, world-view expanding intellectual stimulation, and advancement for the cause of equity to students, that selecting winners from such an amazing pool of nominees is very difficult. Candidates are nominated by their academic senates and selected for demonstrating the highest level of commitment to their students, colleges, and profession. The worthy nominees were many, but four were selected and will each receive a cash award of $1,250. Thank you to all nominees for their wonderful diligence and creative work, and congratulations to the winners for 2019-2020.

Award Winners

Tracy Rickman, full-time fire technology faculty member at Rio Hondo College
Mark Maier, full-time economics faculty member at Glendale College
James V. Buglewicz, part-time theatre arts faculty member at East Los Angeles College
Alexander Leman, part-time parks management faculty member at West Valley College

So much of faculty’s professional life is spent striving for improvement that we should all stop from time to time and appreciate what we do. Exemplary Program Award applications are due in early November, and Hayward applications are due in early December of each year. For more information, visit