2010 Regina Stanback Stroud Award

Event Dates

We are pleased to announce that the Academic Senate for California Community Colleges and the Foundation for California Community Colleges are sponsoring the Regina Stanback Stroud Diversity Award. Serving the most diverse student population of any higher education system in the country, the California Community College System is largely comprised of demographic groups that have traditionally faced barriers to education and are often underprepared when they reach the classroom. It is the challenge and responsibility of our faculty to demonstrate the sustained dedication and support necessary to really engage and excite these students. Fortunately, the state has a cadre of committed faculty who consistently rise to meet these challenges.

The Stanback Stroud Diversity Award seeks to honor these champions of our students. It publicly acknowledges the individual who performs in an exceptional manner to advance intercultural harmony, equity, and campus diversity by making exceptional contributions to the college beyond usual obligations. Each college may nominate one faculty member to receive this prestigious honor, which includes a cash award of $5,000. Remember, all faculty, both inside and outside of the classroom, are eligible for consideration. The award recipient will be honored at the 2010 Spring Plenary Session on April 16, 2010, in San Francisco.

2010 Winner

Nicholas Arnold, Santa Barbara City College
More information about the 2010 winner